PDA

View Full Version : Hello all!

medicdave
06-20-2005, 02:23 PM
Howdy My name is Dave Im a paramedic from San Jose, Ca. I love to BBQ and Im trying to perfect the process. Im here to learn and give whatever help I can to folks.

My next big goal to tackle is pulled pork. I have no idea what it takes to roast a pig or how I should go about it. I have a medium sized Charbroil BBQ/grill pit style with a adjustable coal rack. Its nothin special but it gets the job done. Im also having problems with meat cooking to fast I meen like 2 hours. Im using white oak to cook with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

Bill-Chicago
06-20-2005, 02:26 PM
Welcome Dave

In the Q Talk forum, at the top of the page is a thread called Roadmap.

Scroll down and you'll see some pork threads that should help you out.

Glad you found the site.

BrooklynQ
06-20-2005, 02:27 PM
Welcome Dave! Another one from California. Looks like the MOFO's are becoming a minority now.

Are you looking to do pulled pork or roast a whole pig? Pulled pig is usually from the pork butt.

jt
06-20-2005, 02:30 PM
Welcome to the site, Dave. Like Bill said, check out the Roadmap and then ask away!

medicdave
06-20-2005, 02:31 PM
Thanks for the welcome guys. Im looking to do pulled pork sandwiches with vinager sauce and slaw. Ill check out the roadmaps section. Any other ideas?

MrSmoker
06-20-2005, 02:34 PM
Welcome to the family Brother Dave.

Bigdog
06-20-2005, 02:56 PM
Welcome to the site, Dave. Like Bill said, check out the Roadmap and then ask away!

Dave, I have used the recipe called: "Elizabeth Karmel's North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork" on page 154 of Steven Raichlen's book: "The Barbecue Bible." It includes a recipe for the pork, the vinegar sauce and the slaw. It is awesome.

Trout_man22
06-20-2005, 02:56 PM
Welcome,