PDA

View Full Version : WSM comp cooks

Sledneck
10-18-2011, 04:46 PM
For those of you that cook exclusively on wsm's in competition what is your preferred combination ? (3) 18's. (2). 22's. (2) 22 and (1) 18. Etc

Also what do you use for what, one for briskets one for butts etc

big brother smoke
10-18-2011, 04:52 PM
2-22s and 1-18

Pork butts get the 18; ribs get a 22, brisky gets the other 22; the chicken gets the 22 once the brisky is done. This is my first year cooking on WSMs as you know.

Carnivorous Endeavors BBQ
10-18-2011, 04:57 PM
I cook on 2 - 22 WSMs and a 22 performer. One 22 wsm is for brisket only, the other is for ribs and pork butts. The performer is for chicken although i sometimes put chicken on one of the 22 WSMs. I mainly separate the two 22's because i put different smoking woods for brisket and for pork so i like seasoning the pits individually with those woods. Whether it really makes send or not, I'm not sure but it makes me feel better...ha ha

Captain P.J.
10-18-2011, 04:57 PM
I did one KCBS comp on a single 22.5" wsm. Took 1st in ribs, 5th in chicken 19th in pork out of 41 and finished 11th overall.

Sledneck
10-18-2011, 05:02 PM
This is my first year cooking on WSMs as you know.
I drecall the day you made that decision. Twas about 6:30 on turn in day and muzzlolos damn fec crapped out over night and my briskies were under 100. Then like a superhero I pulled that little black cooker out of my van, threw those briskets on and low and behold a 3rd place brisket:becky:

Stoke&Smoke
10-18-2011, 05:06 PM
We use a 22.5 WSM for brisket and chicken, and an 18 for butts and ribs. I usually bring along an 18.5 kettle for cooking dinner, and occaision use getting color on ribs, etc.

SmokeInDaEye
10-18-2011, 05:07 PM
3 WSMs -- one for brisket, one for ribs, one for pork shoulder. And a 50s era Weber kettle for chicken.

nthole
10-18-2011, 05:28 PM