PDA

View Full Version : Future improvements?


Jchookas
09-10-2011, 12:23 AM
I love the app so far! Thanks for creating it for us BBQ nerds :)

I was curious what your plans were for the next version of the app?
It would be nice if you could include the blower status (on/off) on the graph ( I noticed you are logging the data in your database but I didn't see a way to view it in the app)

Also, what about allowing us to export the raw data? Or add comments at certain time intervals (put meat on, opened lid, etc...)?


I also had a tip for the guys with jailbroken iPhones. You can get around the 10 minute timer issue if you use "Backgrounder" to keep the app running and u can also use "Insomnia" to keep your wifi connection going even when you lock your phone. With these two apps from Cydia you can have uninterrupted data logging at all times :)

BBQchef33
09-10-2011, 12:25 AM
AHEM.... ANDROID!! :becky:

NCGrimbo
09-10-2011, 09:01 PM
I love the app so far! Thanks for creating it for us BBQ nerds :)

I was curious what your plans were for the next version of the app?
It would be nice if you could include the blower status (on/off) on the graph ( I noticed you are logging the data in your database but I didn't see a way to view it in the app)

Also, what about allowing us to export the raw data? Or add comments at certain time intervals (put meat on, opened lid, etc...)?


The next update will have the blower status on the graphs, the ability to mute an alarm on a specific probe, pan and pinch gestures for the graphs, a few coding enhancements, and an indication of which probe has the blower attached to it will be shown when the Stoker is being monitored.

I'm hoping to get a test version to my beta testers on Sunday or Monday and once they feel that it's good to go, then I'll upload an update to Apple. Then we wait for approval of the update before you will see it ready for download on the app store.

AHEM.... ANDROID!! :becky:
You'll be glad to hear that at my job, we are looking into developing for Andriod and if that happens, the Andriod version will be closer to reality.

lcbateman3
09-10-2011, 09:20 PM
+1 for the Android! Hopefully it will be sooner rather than later.

NCGrimbo
09-10-2011, 11:11 PM
Also, what about allowing us to export the raw data? Or add comments at certain time intervals (put meat on, opened lid, etc...)?

I forgot to mention this, but I will have some way of exporting/importing data and cooking comments in a future version.

-NCGrimbo

Jchookas
09-11-2011, 01:14 AM
Sounds great! I can't wait. :)

PorkBone
09-13-2011, 06:12 PM
The app logs data without any problems.

Some issues need to be resolved before the app has any use for me:

Don't want or need a target temp alarm for the "fire" probe, but still need the low and high alarms. So muting the alarms for an entire probe does not solve this issue.

Only need the target temp alarm for the food probes.

No sound on alarms at all on Ipod touch.

I only planned on using this app for overnight cooks. As it is, I can't use it at all. Hopefully, the first revision will solve these issues. Until then, back to stokerlog and the laptop on the nightstand.

PorkBone

NCGrimbo
09-14-2011, 11:33 AM
The app logs data without any problems.

Some issues need to be resolved before the app has any use for me:

Don't want or need a target temp alarm for the "fire" probe, but still need the low and high alarms. So muting the alarms for an entire probe does not solve this issue.

Only need the target temp alarm for the food probes.

No sound on alarms at all on Ipod touch.

I only planned on using this app for overnight cooks. As it is, I can't use it at all. Hopefully, the first revision will solve these issues. Until then, back to stokerlog and the laptop on the nightstand.

PorkBone

PorkBone,

Thanks for posting. To make the app better, I need feedback from users.

The planned muting of alarms will be for the individual alarm for the probe. In your case, you will be able to mute the fire probe's target temp and have the low or high temp alarms go off. The same will be true for the food probes where you would mute the high and low alarm and keep the target temp alarm.

I was recently alerted to the missing sounds when the alert fires and I will have that fixed in the next version.

-NCGrimbo