PDA

View Full Version : Temperature Contollers


woodpelletsmoker
09-02-2011, 08:01 PM
a new controller at www.heavymachine.us/probe

Re: Temperature Controllers
by urbangriller Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:50 am

I've got one of these sitting on my desk right now, the courier delivered it during the week, so I've not tried it yet, next weekends job (BBQ school this weekend).

Unlike all the other controllers, it has 4 phases, so you can set phase 1 to X temperature for Y time, when the time is up it moves to the next phase (XX temperature for YY time) and so on. In addition to that you set the meat doneness temp and hold time, so when the meat gets to temp it controls the BBQ pit to hold the meat at temperature for the length of time you have set, then it switches the BBQ pit to your preset "resting" temperature.

It's looking like the cheapest and smartest controller on the market and the next version I think will be remote and internet enabled.

Cheers
Chris

AustinKnight
09-02-2011, 08:19 PM
a new controller at www.heavymachine.us/probe

Re: Temperature Controllers
by urbangriller Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:50 am

I've got one of these sitting on my desk right now, the courier delivered it during the week, so I've not tried it yet, next weekends job (BBQ school this weekend).

Unlike all the other controllers, it has 4 phases, so you can set phase 1 to X temperature for Y time, when the time is up it moves to the next phase (XX temperature for YY time) and so on. In addition to that you set the meat doneness temp and hold time, so when the meat gets to temp it controls the BBQ pit to hold the meat at temperature for the length of time you have set, then it switches the BBQ pit to your preset "resting" temperature.

It's looking like the cheapest and smartest controller on the market and the next version I think will be remote and internet enabled.

Cheers
Chris

Are those probe/temp things expensive I haven't seen those kind, and do you just lay the temp prob that controls the temp on the grill grate?

woodpelletsmoker
09-03-2011, 12:10 AM
Are those probe/temp things expensive I haven't seen those kind, and do you just lay the temp prob that controls the temp on the grill grate?

You lay pit probe on grate and insert food probe into meat.
You set pit temperature and meat temperate.
At first Pit temperature will be dominant. When it reaches to set time, or when meat reaches to set temperature, Meat temperature will be dominant.

Say you set Pit temp. at 220F for 6 hours, meat temperature at 190F.
6 hours late, meat probe will control the pit.
or whenever meat reaches to 190F, meat probe will take over the control.
You can set meat at 190F for 3 hours, then hold at 140F forever.
During meat probe dominant, pit temperature is limited under certainly level, say 230F.
This way doness is under control, and also you do not over burn surface of meat.

WineMaster
09-03-2011, 10:31 AM
Send one too me and I'll test it for the site and write the review.

woodpelletsmoker
09-03-2011, 08:04 PM
Unfortunately we do not offer free sample.
Instead we sell 10 pieces of sample at US$64 plus shipping US$20 to most active members in major forums. There are 2 pieces left.