PDA

View Full Version : Best tool to prep Chicken Skin

BasicPatrick
08-23-2011, 10:16 AM
OK,

We are a rookie team doing well and are starting to find our own way. I have recently been focusing hard on improving my chicken scores and at our last contest (3rd ever) we got a 7th place Chicken.

I have decided that scraping skin and doing thighs is pretty much mandatory for a top 5 finish. Thus, I just have to get good at this process.

My question or at least the subject I would like to see some shared discussion is what is the best tool to scrape/filet/prep/remove fat from skin during the chicken prep.

So far I have been most happy using a quality filet knife and I really do filet the fat from the skin. Full disclosure is that I am a professional fisherman with outrageous filet skills. I still wonder if there is a better tool to use.

What other tools are people using? Any comments on why one tool over another?

SteerCrazy
08-23-2011, 10:26 AM
we use a very sharp knife. Most skins are tough enough to take the scraping but there will be some that will tear easily. I find that brining the chicken with the skins on helps them to scrape easier too

Jeff_in_KC
08-23-2011, 10:32 AM
I used to be known as the Schick guy for "shaving" my chicken skins. Actually, I never used one for that purpose, Gary. LOL! Don't even mess with it now. Just cook 'em up and let the chips fall where they may.

SteerCrazy
08-23-2011, 10:35 AM
I used to be known as the Schick guy for "shaving" my chicken skins. Actually, I never used one for that purpose, Gary. LOL! Don't even mess with it now. Just cook 'em up and let the chips fall where they may.

I'll have to agree with Jeff, we've been practicing without scraping and finding pretty much the same results. Our chicken always turns out great in practice, for some reason we cannot duplicate that in competition :tsk:

boogiesnap
08-23-2011, 10:39 AM