PDA

View Full Version : What are the top 10 to 15 BBQ competitions?

bearnakedbbq
07-30-2011, 12:02 AM
Being in Alaska we are limited on competitions. I would be interested in attending one or two events in the lower 48, but since I am a newbie I am unsure what events would be the good ones to attend.

I am currently thinking about this one in Sept. http://skeweredapple.com/

What are some of the bigger events to attend?

As a bonus, if there are two major events on back-to-back weekends that are somewhat close to one another I would prefer it. It would be like attending two events for the price of one.

Thanks

Troy

huminie
07-30-2011, 01:45 AM
If you have a KCBS GC under your belt, then I would suggest the American Royal. Invitational on Saturday and the Open on Sunday.

One to consider would be the KCBS double header at the end of the year in SoCal. One contest has turn ins on News Year's Eve day and the other on New Year's Day. Likely the first two contests of the KCBS year. Will be held at Knott's Berry Farm and should have 40+ teams at both. I am sure leaving Alaska for SoCal would be appealing at the end of Dec/early Jan. Check the CBBQA board for details.

TooSaucedToPork
07-30-2011, 07:22 AM
Being in Alaska we are limited on competitions. I would be interested in attending one or two events in the lower 48, but since I am a newbie I am unsure what events would be the good ones to attend.

I am currently thinking about this one in Sept. http://skeweredapple.com/

What are some of the bigger events to attend?

As a bonus, if there are two major events on back-to-back weekends that are somewhat close to one another I would prefer it. It would be like attending two events for the price of one.

Thanks

Troy

Just my opinion of the biggest festivals.

American Royal BBQ Contest - Missouri - Kansas City - october

National Capital Barbecue Battle - D.C. - june

Memphis in May World Championship BBQ Cooking Contest - Tennessee - Memphis - May