PDA

View Full Version : Why don't BBQ competitions pay REAL money???

snyper77
07-21-2011, 12:46 PM
I'm new to Q, but one thing I've noticed is that competitions (on average) don't pay squat!

A few examples.....I was watching Pitmasters and they were saying "this is a big competition and draws people from all over, blah blah" and some of the main characters drove 1200 miles to compete.

The woman on the show (from Wood Chicks BBQ) won 5th place overall. You know what she got paid? NOTHING. $0.

Another example: I've heard that the Jack Daniels competition in TN is a major event. I just read a story on their website where the 2010 winner was paid $5000.

Now lets be honest here, $5000 is a nice payday, sure, but look at the PBR Bullriding guys.....some of those comps pay $200,000. Then you've got Bassmaster tournaments that pay $100,000+.

Again, I know nothing about BBQ - nothing. But I know "dollar amounts" and I'm pretty sure the payouts have a lot to do with sponsors and their checkbooks. If so, isn't it time that KRAFT, REYNOLDS WRAP, McCORMICK, KINGSFORD, APPLE JUICE MAKERS, ETC. start supporting these competitions a little better? I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Thanks!

Lake Dogs
07-21-2011, 12:54 PM
It would be nice, for certain.

I dont think we're even close to this for many MANY years to come, not until there's a TV audience for it.

In the mean time, seek out the DegaQue's & others with larger payouts. I try to find the competitions with more than $10,000 payouts; hopefully $15,000 and higher.

AUradar
07-21-2011, 01:00 PM
the big teams probably get paid via endorsments.

that Wood Chicks BBQ is sponsered by Green Egg, at least in part.

Ole South Jack has books out, his on smoker line, and offers classes. At the price of his class, he makes more on it than comps I bet.

But the comps is what allows him to do that.

snyper77
07-21-2011, 01:16 PM
It would be nice, for certain.