PDA

View Full Version : Party for 40

nthole
06-23-2011, 10:07 AM
My neighbor asked me to 'cater' her Dad's 75th bday party. She's actually doing all the sides, deserts, etc, she just asked if I would bbq for her. She's anticipating 40 people, mostly adults. She's asking for pork and chicken.

I'm thinking of 3 - 4 butts (about 32lbs pre-cooked) and 40 leg quarters. That's probably WAY too much. Thoughts from the experts?

AUradar
06-23-2011, 10:18 AM
i'm no expert, only cooked a few times. I think I've been running about 16 pork sandwhiches per butt (average butt being >8lbs). So 3 butts would run about 48 sandwhiches.

I'm currently in your same position. Trying to figure out a multi-meat amount for a party. I'm erroring on the side of having more than enough, figuring the amount needed to feed each person each meat.

chad
06-23-2011, 10:32 AM
That's a lot of pork for 40 people. Should be "plenty" of leftovers...especially with chicken, too. Older folks will only eat a bit of pork and may a chicken leg or thigh or half of a chicken breast. Of course, your mileage will vary. :-D

nthole
06-23-2011, 10:36 AM
i'm no expert, only cooked a few times. I think I've been running about 16 pork sandwhiches per butt (average butt being >8lbs). So 3 butts would run about 48 sandwhiches.

I'm currently in your same position. Trying to figure out a multi-meat amount for a party. I'm erroring on the side of having more than enough, figuring the amount needed to feed each person each meat.

Indeed I was figuring on the same number. The multi-meat thing is what's getting me. I did see your post as well and was keeping an eye on it. Being the different meats I thought it might be helpful for a search perspective to have answers to both.

AUradar
06-24-2011, 07:05 AM
i priced out leg quarters yesterday, a bag of 11 is $6.50. heck, thats too cheap not to cook plenty of them. Unless of course you are charging per person and its profit your worried about.