PDA

View Full Version : My first Call...

YokeUp
04-12-2011, 12:55 PM
hey, I got my first call this past weekend and it was a doosey... 2nd Chicken in DeQuincy, LA.... there were some great cooks there, so I was humbled by the call.

As a rookie, I have to tell ya'll it was a huge thrill to get my product to that level. I have so much to learn and work on, but, knowing that some things are working is very cool. I have a ton of respect for those of you out there getting it done every week and hitting the top group all the time.

And I have to thank the great group of guys that helped, and are continuing to help me, along the way... Brian Lipps, TWayne, Un-yawn (Ron), Zee man, Mr. Jim and many others ...

Thank you and God bless you all... Look forward to many more cooking experiences....

now I'm hunting that first Grand.... :-D

Southern Home Boy
04-12-2011, 01:11 PM
Congratulations on the call, man! I remember my first call. I was stunned. I couldn't believe they'd actually called MY name... Awesome feeling though.

Cheers, and here's to many more for you!

Lake Dogs
04-12-2011, 01:12 PM
CONGRATS!!! Bad news though; you're probably hooked.

Rich Parker
04-12-2011, 01:12 PM
Congrats!

INmitch
04-12-2011, 01:28 PM
Congrats! Is that the same Un-yawn that cooked with Motley Que (sp) Crew @ N Little Rock last year?

Fishiest1
04-12-2011, 01:29 PM
Congrats!

Meat in the Middle
04-12-2011, 01:31 PM
Hey, I was at that cookoff and got my first call as well. It was only a 10th in Ribs, but it was a call. In my 2nd year now, and I seem to be comprehending this competition scene a little bit better than I did last year. But that 2nd Place Chicken you got was awesome. Anyways, we love your videos, and we'll see you down the road, I'm sure!

FamilyManBBQ
04-12-2011, 01:34 PM
Congrats!! It's a great feeling!! We were fortunate enough to hear our name a few times last year...each felt as good as the first!

Stoke&Smoke
04-12-2011, 01:57 PM
congrats!

JD McGee
04-12-2011, 02:22 PM