PDA

View Full Version : Who else is cutting back?

rescue_ranger
03-17-2011, 04:05 PM
On competitions this year due to the skyrocketing cost of fuel and the higher cost of meats and supplies. I was looking at CostCo’s ribs yesterday and they were $26.00 a pack compared to the $18.00 I paid last year I’m afraid if things keep spiraling out of sight I will only be able to afford 1 or 2 events this year instead of the 4 or 6 I normally do. ( if ya need to move this thread I understand not sure if this is the right form or not):scared:

Bamabuzzard
03-17-2011, 04:08 PM
I don't do comps but I'm having to cut back. I wanted use the first part of 2011 to practice on doing briskets. I'm not very good at them, mainly because I haven't hardly cooked them. But with these beef prices I simply can't afford to "practice".

My neighbor is a store director for a local Brookshires and he said don't plan on "practicing" anytime soon if I was waiting on the prices to go down. :tsk:

swamprb
03-17-2011, 04:40 PM
Take a look at vegetable prices too. $2.99 for a head of green leaf lettuce and its s'posed to go up more!!

landarc
03-17-2011, 04:50 PM
Well, everything is going to go up, it is the cost of energy. Unfortunately, over the past 10 years, I have been cutting back pretty steadily. Such that it really doesn't feel bad anymore.

energyzer
03-17-2011, 05:15 PM
What sucks about all this, is I'm just starting out. Built my first UDS last fall. We are fortunate that we get lots of beef at no cost, but the roasts can go quickly. I wanted to do a lot of smoking, but won't be able to.

MariettaSmoker
03-17-2011, 11:04 PM
It all has to do with the cost of fuel. I drive a truck and when our fuel prices go up, those prices get passed on to the customers in the form of a fuel surcharge. Ours is now at 47 cents per mile. Think about that. The average load goes 1000 miles at 47 cents per. Fuel goes up, surcharge goes up. Fuel goes down, surcharge goes down, food prices go down.

OneHump