PDA

View Full Version : Competition Rubs and Sauces

smokeyw
02-08-2011, 07:54 PM
First of all, let me say that I am not trying to start an arguement. However, I would like to say how I feel about something and would like to know how others feel.
I personally can not use someone elses rub or sauce in a competition. Win or lose, I need to know it is all me and my team. I personally feel like this is as big a part of the competition as the cooking is. I know it would be hard to enforce but I believe that teams should have to make their own sauce and rubs. I know many will disagree with me but I would like to hear some opinions on this.

slowerlowerbbq
02-08-2011, 08:03 PM
I hear ya and I respect your opinion, but I have to disagree. You can give the same sauces and rubs to a BBQ champion and a complete beginner and I can guarantee you will NOT get the same results. Cooking Que is so much more than just the sauces and rubs. Most don't even use them as made but will often doctor them or mix flavors to get their own desired result. Me? I prefer my own rubs but I can't make sauce to save my life so I use a doctored up commercial sauce.

Just my $0.02.

Finney
02-08-2011, 08:16 PM
Do what you feel... Whatever that is...

Jacked UP BBQ
02-08-2011, 08:23 PM
I agree with you, but have crossed over to using commercial sauce and rubs. I still use my own rub on pork. I use most commercial sauces as an ingredient not a sauce. Our pork sauce has about 12 ingredients in it. Brisket 7. Chicken 5. and Ribs who cares because our ribs suck. It would make it more interesting if everyone did make their own, it would lighten up the playing field a little but it would be impossible to keep bbq comps as big as they are and as fast as they are growing and I thank all the companies that put out great commercial stuff for that.

Ken V
02-08-2011, 08:36 PM
Do you feel the same way about smokers also?

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

Plowboy
02-08-2011, 08:38 PM